Do you think this is a scam?
So I sent submitted my pictures to kidstalent.net (It was for modeling and acting and stuff) and we got a reply letter from them saying:
>>>>>>Hi there,
Thank you for your submission! We believe Micayla could do very well in this industry – you have a beautiful and very marketable child!
If you have interest in learning further about how we can help you succeed in this industry, please send us the best phone number for contact and the best time to contact you, and we will be glad to speak with you directly.
Best regards,
Alex
Head Scout<<<<<<
So we replied when a good time would be and when but after THAT email we sent this is was they said:
>>>>>>Before we call, we just wanted to make sure you understand that we are NOT an agency – we refer your child to safe and reputable agencies, and therefore charge for such services. However, since your child will become a working model, your investment is tax-deductible!
To help answer any questions you may have, here’s a summary of how we work:
Every day our company receives up to 200 new submissions, all of which are immediately screened by our casting department and evaluated for potential in the modeling industry. Of all the kids evaluated, only a small percentage is signed by us for representation.
As for our service, we do all the marketing and promotion of your kid for you through an efficient and cutting-edge method developed by our company. In summary, we build a website for your child, host it, maintain it, and have it viewed only by reputable agencies, casting directors and industry personnel nationwide – all of which are part of our exclusive network of industry resources.
Nowadays, most top agencies only accept kids through an "industry referral". The old "Mail us photos!" system no longer works. Your child needs to come recommended by someone in the industry. Guess who that "someone" is? Yes, us!!
In addition, we advise you on photos, outfits, travel, etc. – anything that you’d need to know to succeed in the industry. Never mind all the time spent on researching agencies that you’ll save.
Oh, and we provide you the peace-of-mind of knowing that you’ll only be dealing with legit and reputable agencies. The safety of your child is our first priority!
We do all of this for the next 3 years for a tax-deductible, one-time investment of only $495!!
Quite a deal, huh?
In 2007 alone, children we have worked with have appeared on Disney Channel, MTV, Heroes (NBC), McDonald’s commercial, Criss Angel – Mindfreak (A&E), Everybody Hates Chris (UPN), EA Sports commercial, Pier 1 catalog, Larry The Cable Guy and much more!
We are confident Micayla can have a successful career in modeling and television, and hope to help you get there faster and safely.
Your child has been carefully selected to fill a void in our roster of talent, and we’re hopeful to be working with you. Yet, due to the time-sensitive nature of our business, we cannot hold your child’s spot indefinitely.
If you’d still like me to call, we need to set up a convenient time for a phone meeting – within the next couple of days – to further explain to you how you can get your child represented by us.
Hope to hear from you soon!
Alex<<<<<<<<<<<<
do you think its real or fake? should we pay the 495$?
people, check out their sucess stories! theyre pretty amazing! ……… unless thats fake too……….
Scam… if you have to pay to get a job, ANY job, then it’s not a job for YOU, it’s a job for the person you’re paying…
April 1st, 2010 at 4:02 am
I am a model… You get paid to model, not PAY to be the model.
References :
April 1st, 2010 at 4:26 am
i think it’s a scam. try googling for agencies and send your pic directly to them. there’s no reason you should pay someone for submitting a pic of you.
References :
April 1st, 2010 at 5:07 am
i think it is a scam! $495 is a lot of money
References :
April 1st, 2010 at 5:37 am
F that, just wait for a real scout to come and get you.
References :
April 1st, 2010 at 6:18 am
Scam. A reputable agency never charges you money for anything.
References :
April 1st, 2010 at 6:38 am
DONT PAY IT!!!!! FAKE.
References :
April 1st, 2010 at 6:53 am
In my opinion, I’d call it a scam :S
References :
Most of these things are.
April 1st, 2010 at 7:36 am
Scam… if you have to pay to get a job, ANY job, then it’s not a job for YOU, it’s a job for the person you’re paying…
References :
April 1st, 2010 at 7:45 am
You don’t pay to be a model. You get payed to be a model. its a scam
References :
April 1st, 2010 at 8:11 am
This is a scam, do not pay!
References :
April 1st, 2010 at 8:38 am
I def. don’t think that you should just fork over 495$ without checking into it being a scam. And, if you even doubt that this is a real company, I would not suggest going through with it. Your gut is always right!
References :
April 1st, 2010 at 8:52 am
i wouldnt trust it.. for that price u can get some really good headshots and just take it to a modeling company…hope i helped
References :
April 1st, 2010 at 9:17 am
Scam! I manage to win the lottery everyday with these phony scams. Delete it and forget about it.
References :
April 1st, 2010 at 9:56 am
SCAM
DONT SEND MONEY
References :
April 1st, 2010 at 10:31 am
Don’t pay. No agency or service should charge you up front. When someone agrees to take you or your child on, they will receive a percent of what you get paid. This is a scam…you should gain experience and go directly to agencies if possible.
References :
April 1st, 2010 at 10:45 am
NO!!
If im getting this right, they are not a real agency, they just refer you to an angency. So your gonna have to pay that "referring company" and the "real talent agency". Why not just find a real talent agency.
References :
April 1st, 2010 at 11:06 am
Mostly everything your Alex buddy is saying there is an automated message with the victims name in place of a blank.
Definite scam, don’t even waste your time.
References :
April 1st, 2010 at 11:37 am
my friend did something like that they paid the fee but never got a job i don’t think it is a scam but i do think it will take a long time till they find a job for u.
i don’t think its worth it.
sorry : [
References :
April 1st, 2010 at 12:03 pm
DO NOT PAY!!! You don’t know who is really getting this money. You will be out $495. You need to get with a modeling company that is in your town or that has credibility including a phone number, location, and maybe even rated in the Better Business Bureau. I would not send a dime to this company you aren’t guaranteed that they will provide any service. Good Luck!
References :
April 1st, 2010 at 12:37 pm
ehh i wouldnt risk it
dont do it
References :
April 1st, 2010 at 1:24 pm
It’s a scam. You have to try to get an agent to represent you. If a legitimate agent thinks you or your child has any chance at making them money they will take you as a client. They get paid a percentage of the money you make. Remember, you get paid, You don’t pay them. Peolple asking for 500 bucks just run people through a B.S. mill for 3 years after which you get nothing, unless you want to sign up for another 3 years. Lol.
References :
April 1st, 2010 at 1:35 pm
get the name of the company and look it up online. Make sure you actually speak with a person. DO NOT give them bank information, instead pay with a credit card, and last but not least, tell them that you would like to record the conversation and actually do it.
There’s a lot of scam nowadays you don’t know who to trust anymore. This e-mail seems legit but I would take caution and follow the steps i mentioned above.
Good luck!
References :
April 1st, 2010 at 1:56 pm
Sound to me, their goal is to get your money. I think; they do little work to make it legal and there is some success. No don’t go for it.
References :
April 1st, 2010 at 2:28 pm
fake
References :
April 1st, 2010 at 2:47 pm
If you think it is a scam…it most likely is…simple as that.
But if you really want to know then give them a pic of puppy dog under a different email address (maybe even a different computer)…I am betting that it is not even look at…everything you received is a automated response
I personally don’t know why you would want to get your kid into modeling anyway…I mean if the kid wants to get into modeling that is fine…and if the kid does want to, I would go to a modeling agency (in person)..Not trust the internet in this case.
References :